From Coast to Coast: Part 1

A few months ago my boyfriend and I embarked on a journey that would forever be known as our “cross country nightmare.” We spent 8 days driving, 8 days stopping constantly to walk our dog, and 8 days trying not to fall asleep at the wheel. Did you get that? I want you know it took us 8 days. 

A little background on why we were moving goes back to many reasons couples take these moves: the good ol’ military. We decided to drive, instead of fly, because we have our dog. I am not sure if you have ever taken a look at the statistics regarding dogs safely flying in airplanes, they’re not good. Many dogs are either overheated, have seizures, get horrible anxiety, or are covered in their own feces/urine for hours. I took one look at those online articles and let me boyfriend know I was feeling uncomfortable about flying her and his response was a quick “say no more.”

As time went on it seemed our move came closer and closer, yet our planning seemed impossible to complete it all before leaving. We decided to leave the Saturday after Thanksgiving and started planning around September.

Finding a home: It was nearly impossible to find a home from this distance away, at least one that would allow our dog. With him working on Whidbey, and my job status still unknown, we were trying to look all over instead of a narrowed down city (which I think made it more stressful.) It got down to two weeks from our departure date, my boyfriend practically losing his hair, and we found an apartment in between Seattle and Whidbey.

When making a military move I would just like to offer some advice: help out your S/O. Support one another in any, and every, way that you can. During this move it seemed like regardless of what we got right, something else ended up wrong. One of the few things that helped us make it here, some days the only thing, was each other. There were a lot of tears shed, mostly from stress, and a few unnecessary fights. Just keep your love close and make some time for each other beyond the move. Once we made it here, that stress and those moments became something to look back and laugh at.

I will finish this story in a Part 2, where I will include some pictures and a story about our drive!

This is us the night before our last day in Virginia. I miss that beautiful Fall foliage there!!

5 thoughts on “From Coast to Coast: Part 1

  1. Great start to your story! This is well-written and really draws me in. The pictures on your site are wonderful with exquisite detail. Looking forward to seeing more. Followed!

    Like

Leave a comment